jump to navigation

Experimenting with Normal Mapping using PShaders May 19, 2013

Posted by Andor Saga in GLSL, Processing, PShader.
trackback

Normal_Mapping_PShader

Just over half a year ago, I wrote a blog about Experimenting with Normal Mapping. I wrote a simple Processing sketch that demonstrated the technique and I also wrote a hacked up Processing.js sketch to squeeze out some extra few frames/sec on the browser side of things.

This long weekend, I found myself with some extra time to hack on something. I remember that several weeks ago, Processing 2 introduced PShaders, which at the time I found exciting, but I didn’t have a chance to look at them. So this weekend I decided to take a look into this new PShader object. I haven’t touched shaders in a while, so I brushed up on them by reading the PShader tutorial on the Processing page.

After my refresher, I got to hacking and re-wrote my normal mapping sketch. Here is my complete sketch along with vertex and fragment shaders:

The sketch:

PImage diffuseMap;
PImage normalMap;

PShape plane;

PShader normalMapShader;

void setup() {
  size(256, 256, P3D);
  
  diffuseMap = loadImage("crossColor.jpg");
  normalMap = loadImage("crossNormal.jpg");
  
  plane = createPlane(diffuseMap);
  
  normalMapShader = loadShader("texfrag.glsl", "texvert.glsl");
  shader(normalMapShader);
  normalMapShader.set("normalMap", normalMap);
}

void draw(){
  background(0);
  translate(width/2, height/2, 0);
  scale(128);
  shape(plane);
}

void mouseMoved(){
  updateCursorCoords();
}

void mouseDragged(){
  updateCursorCoords();
}

void updateCursorCoords(){
  normalMapShader.set("mouseX", (float)mouseX);
  normalMapShader.set("mouseY", height - (float)mouseY);
}

void mousePressed(){
  normalMapShader.set("useSpecular", 1);
}

void mouseReleased(){
  normalMapShader.set("useSpecular", 0);
}

PShape createPlane(PImage tex) {
  textureMode(NORMAL);
  PShape sh = createShape();
  sh.beginShape(QUAD);
  sh.noStroke();
  sh.texture(tex);
  sh.vertex( 1, -1, 0, 1, 0);
  sh.vertex( 1,  1, 0, 1, 1);    
  sh.vertex(-1,  1, 0, 0, 1);
  sh.vertex(-1, -1, 0, 0, 0);
  sh.endShape(); 
  return sh;
}

The vertex shader:

#define PROCESSING_TEXTURE_SHADER

uniform mat4 transform;
uniform mat4 texMatrix;

attribute vec4 vertex;
attribute vec2 texCoord;

varying vec4 vertTexCoord;

void main() {
  gl_Position = transform * vertex;
  vertTexCoord = texMatrix * vec4(texCoord, 1.0, 1.0);
}

The fragment shader:

#ifdef GL_ES
precision mediump float;
precision mediump int;
#endif

#define PI 3.141592658

uniform sampler2D normalMap;
uniform sampler2D colorMap;

uniform int useSpecular;

uniform float mouseX;
uniform float mouseY;

varying vec4 vertTexCoord;

const vec3 view = vec3(0,0,1);
const float shine = 40.0;

void main() {
  // Convert the RGB values to XYZ
  vec4 normalColor  = texture2D(normalMap, vertTexCoord.st);
  vec3 normalVector = vec3(normalColor - vec4(0.5));
  normalVector = normalize(normalVector);

  vec3 rayOfLight = vec3(gl_FragCoord.x - mouseX, gl_FragCoord.y - mouseY, -150.0);
  rayOfLight = normalize(rayOfLight);

  float nDotL = dot(rayOfLight, normalVector);

  vec3 finalSpec = vec3(0);

  if(useSpecular == 1){
    vec3 reflection = normalVector;
    reflection = reflection * nDotL * 2.0;
    reflection -= rayOfLight;
    float specIntensity = pow( dot(reflection, view), shine);
    finalSpec = vec3(1.0, 0.5, 0.2) * specIntensity;
  }

  float finalDiffuse = acos(nDotL)/PI;

  gl_FragColor = vec4(finalSpec + vec3(texture2D(colorMap, vertTexCoord.st) * finalDiffuse), 1.0);
}

Performance

I found using PShaders very exciting, since I could place all this computational work on the GPU rather than CPU. So I wondered about the performance vs my old sketch. I’m on a mac mini, and after running tests I found my original normal mapping sketch ran at 30FPS with diffuse lighting and it ran at 21FPS using diffuse and specular lighting. Using PShaders, I was able to render specular and diffuse lighting at a solid 60FPS. Keep in mind the first sketch is 2D and my new one is 3D, so I’m not sure if that comparison is fair.

No Demo? 😦

Sadly, Processing no longer allows exporting to applets, so I can’t even post a demo running in Java. The perfect solution would be to implement the PShader in Processing.js, which is something I’m considering….

Comments»

1. christian - July 11, 2013

Hey there …thanks for your work…been trying bump mapping for a while now…and this helps me a lot…btw i copy and pasted everything together and its just doesnt seem to be right. maybe you can try to compile it in the newest 2.0 – however there seems to be a little mistake as the shader seems to display a mixture of normal and diffuse…really weird

2. Andor Salga - July 12, 2013

Thanks Christian, I’ll take a look.

Abe - June 25, 2014

Hi! I was wondering if you had the chance to try it in recent versions of Processing? I tested the code with two random images, but the effect does not look very “3D”… Thanks 🙂

Andor Salga - June 25, 2014

Abe: Try taking a look at my most latest normal mapping sketch: http://www.openprocessing.org/sketch/140356

Also, can you link to the images?


Leave a Reply

